Cloud migration (December 2020)
A complete overhaul of the Genostack service is planned from the 14/12/20 to 01/01/21.
As the underlying infrastructure will be replaced, instances, images, volumes and shares will be removed.
Several procedures are available to transfer your images, volumes and shares
Nonetheless, we advise you to backup your important data outside the cloud.
All volumes will be deleted. You will be able to retain volume snapshots. To create a volume snapshot, please head to your volumes tab in Genostack, and select the Create backup action.
Depending of your volume size, this may take up to several hours, so we recommend you start creating backups before December 10th 2020.
Once the upgrade is over, you will be able to regenerate your volumes from your backups by going to the Volumes->Backups tab, and using the Restore Backup action.
We will transfer all your shares content in the /groups/openstack/your_user_id/shares/share_name/ folder.
Once the update is done, you will need to re-create your shares and transfer the data back with the scp command.
Don't forget to re-create the correct access permissions.
All public images will be transferred. Private images will be stored in /groups/openstack/your_user_id/images/image_name.
After the upgrade, you will be able to re-create your images using the openstack CLI on the openstack.genouest.org frontend.
- Download your openrc file by going to the API Access tab in Genostack
- Select Download Openstack RC File -> OpenStack RC File (Identity API v3)
- Upload this file to your Genouest home
- Use the Openstack CLI to re-create the image
scp yourusernamee-openrc.sh email@example.com: ssh firstname.lastname@example.org . yourusernamee-openrc.sh /opt/openstack-cli.sh image create --file /groups/openstack/your_user_id/images/image_name new_image_name
The image will then be available on Genostack.
Before the upgrade
- Backup your cloud data outside the cloud just in case
- Save your instances as images if needed
- Make a backup of your volumes following this procedure (deadline: 10/12/20)
After the upgrade
- Recreate your shares and re-upload your data
- Re-create your volumes from your snapshots
- Re-create the images you wish to use